Geoff's Big Walk for Limbs 4 Life

28th April - 12th May - Canberra to Melbourne

Geoff's Big Walk for Limbs 4 Life
Meet Geoff, a Limbs 4 Life Peer Support Volunteer, and walking enthusiast. This year Geoff will undertake the journey of a lifetime, walking from Canberra to Melbourne to raise money and awareness of amputation and Limbs 4 Life. Geoff wants you to get on board and support his ‘Big Walk.’ We are thrilled that Geoff has chosen to share his story about living with limb loss and overcoming adversity.

In April 1985 at the age of 23, I was involved in a motorbike accident that left me with horrific leg injuries. I was told that I’d never be able to walk unaided again. After 15 months of rehabilitation, determination and hard work, not only was I walking unaided but I took part in my first fun run with a specially designed shoe for that leg.

"I continued life with my fragile injured leg for another 24 years until 2010 when I fell and broke my already damaged leg. After six months of having my leg in a cast it was evident that it was not healing so I made the difficult decision to have my right leg amputated below the knee. It was a life changing decision and definitely not an easy one, but I couldn’t live with the pain any longer. I was fitted for a prosthetic leg only a couple weeks after my surgery and after only a month of learning to walk with my prosthetic I started some gentle running on a treadmill. Six months after the amputation I entered my first 5km fun run and since then I have walked the Kokoda Trail twice and climbed Mount Kilimanjaro," Geoff shared.

Geoff will be departing Canberra on Sunday April 28 following the AMP-ED Up! National Amputee Conference. Geoff is hoping that people in local towns and communities will greet him along the way and possibly walk alongside him.

Geoff’s Big Walk for Limbs 4 Life will cover the following towns:


Canberra to Yass - Sunday, 28 April

Yass to Jugiong - Monday, 29 April

Jugiong to Gundagai - Tuesday, 30 April

Gundagai to Tarcutta - Wednesday, 1 May

Tarcutta to Kyeamba - Thursday, 2 May

Kyeamba to Holbrook - Friday, 23 May

Holbrook to Mullengandra - Saturday, 4 May

Mullengandra to Wodonga – Sunday, 5 May

Wodonga to Chiltern – Monday, 6 May

Chiltern to Wangaratta – Tuesday, 7 May

Wangaratta to Benalla – Wednesday, 8 May

Benalla to Euroa – Thursday, 9 May

Euroa to Seymour – Friday, 10 May

Seymour to Wandong – Saturday, 11 May

Wandong to Melbourne – Sunday, 12 May

*Dates may vary due to weather and other conditions

If you would like to follow Geoff’s Big Walk or donate please click here or if you would like to meet up with Geoff along the way, please log your support interest at info@limbs4life.org.au

28th April - 12th May - Canberra to Melbourne